SYDNEY SADICK

Sydney Interviews Taylor Armstrong

In Interview/Personal Appearance on March 23, 2012 at 12:00 AM

A sweet mom with a wholesome background from Oklahoma, I love watching Taylor Armstrong on The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. From being on the advisory board of My Stylist Club (a stylist to consult with via Skype or phone) to sharing her story in her new book, Hiding from Reality: My Story of Love, Loss, and Finding the Courage Within, Taylor gives Style Solutions a taste of her life. 

S: As a devoted mom, you seem to thoroughly enjoy Kennedy. What do the two of you like to do together? Any “Mommy and Me” outfits?

T: Kennedy and I have a lot of fun going to the beach, reading books, dancing around the room, making dinner together, etc. We spend a lot of time together; she’s my world. We have more similar items than matching, but we do have matching leather bracelets that we made in Hawaii. They have special inscriptions that mean something to us about our relationship as mother and daughter; I cherish those.

S: Why do you think everyone is so fascinated by what you do or don’t do in terms of facial treatments?

T: Beverly Hills and Hollywood are often associated with plastic surgery and the desire to stay young-looking. There are so many great non-invasive treatments. I love Vi Peel; it gives me glowing, soft skin in a week. I get Botox twice a year to keep the wrinkles under control, and filler has helped to fill out my hallow cheeks a bit. I should’ve used more sunscreen as a young person and maybe I wouldn’t need the help. I use it everyday now…better late than never!

S: How do you differentiate your style from the rest of Beverly Hills?

T: I would describe my style as classic with an edge. I really like accessories, especially bold cuffs and rings. I wear a lot of vintage American Indian pieces because it is a part of my heritage and makes me think of my grandmother and family in Oklahoma.

S: I admire how you’re using your fame to bring attention to what in many cases is still the dark secret in families. How do you explain this?

T: Sadly, there is a stigma that comes with domestic abuse. It’s so difficult for anyone who hasn’t been in an unhealthy relationship to understand why someone stays. I hope by sharing my story, more people will recognize the red flags and get help long before I did.

S: What was it like getting that story down on paper?

T: A good deal of it came from journaling, which I found to be quite helpful in examining the patterns in my life starting as a teen. When I began to realize how my lack of self-esteem played a role in the types of relationships I chose, I decided to share. My hope is that young people will see the warning signs of unhealthy relationships early on and will have enough self-love to make better decisions than I did.

S: What’s up next for you?

T: My primary focus is enjoying time with Kennedy. When she is busy in school, I will be sharing my experiences by speaking at women’s centers and universities. I recently started the Taylor Armstrong Foundation, whose purpose is to provide financial assistance to local shelters across the US and to educate the community on domestic violence.

  1. Love Taylor! so strong and beautiful!

Leave a comment